No summer holiday is complete without the perfect read, but how do you know which book will leave you blissed out and which could leave you stressed out? If you’re browsing through the summer reads section and can’t decide which to pick, simply follow this guide and find out which books will make this summer one to remember. Whether you like fantasy fiction, real-life stories or a little bit of romance, this guide has got you covered.

Before you head off on your beach holiday, road trip or city break, make sure you’ve got everything you need to enjoy yourself fully. Having a spare pair of sun readers is a great place to start, as you’ll wish you’d brought some when you leave your main pair on the beach, by the pool or even at home! You might also want to get a page clip to hold your book open and stop that nice ocean breeze from blowing your pages over. A clip-on reading light is also a great idea if you’re travelling at night or sleeping in a room with friends. So make sure you’re prepared before you head off on your summer reading adventure!

 

summer reading

 

The Off-Beat Romance

If you’re looking for a holiday romance that isn’t cliché or every day, this summer’s new book releases are perfect for you. The last few years have seen a shift in the approach to traditional romance, and many of 2017’s offerings are as off-beat as they come. If you like a romance story with a quirky vibe and a twist of the unexpected, you won’t be disappointed. These books are perfect if you like novels by Zadie Smith or Don Tillman.

Recommended reads: The Answers by Catherine Lacey, New People by Danzy Senna

 

The Friendship Novel

This genre of fiction has become very popular recently, especially with the hysteria around celebrity friendships and #squadgoals. This summer’s latest additions are original, unique and, at times, quite dark. This is no place for fans of the easy read, as many of these books explore friendships in stark and realistic detail. Ideal for fans of Emily Gould, Khaled Hosseini and Stephen Chbosky.

Recommended reads: Perennials by Mandy Berman, The Burning Girl by Claire Messud

 

The Contemporary Comedy

Often when you’re looking for a summer read, you want something light-hearted and funny to get you in the mood for a fun holiday. There are endless lists of these books, although some are a little dated now, or tend to recycle to same plot line over and over again. For something a little different, but just as funny, try one of 2017’s new releases, with on-point perspectives and witty angles on current events. Perfect if you enjoy books by Helen Fielding, David Wong or Flann O’Brien.

Recommended reads: Rich People Problems by Kevin Kwan

 

summer reading

 

The Hard Hitting Non-Fiction

The flip side to the comedy novel is this year’s hard-hitting non-fiction, which often focuses on current events such as the war in Syria, the North Korean regime and the experiences of refugees. If you’re not a fan of fiction and like to get an in-depth perspective on contemporary issues, then these books could be your perfect summer read. Providing that you’re not put off by hard-hitting, heart-breaking stories that are incredibly true to life.

Recommended reads: We Crossed a Bridge and It Trembled by Wendy Pearlman

 

The Realistic Thriller

If you like a dangerous, heart-stopping thriller to accompany you while you’re topping up your tan on the beach, this summer’s book selection has plenty to offer you. These stories are created to excite and entertain, and will leave you with an unforgettable feeling. The recent success of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train have stepped up this genre, making it more sophisticated and fascinating than ever.

Recommended reads: Do Not Become Alarmed by Maile Meloy

 

The Moving Memoir

More options for those who aren’t into fiction come with this year’s flood of moving memoirs, written by those who have experienced incredible and often terrible things. These books provide a sentimental soundtrack to your summer, giving you perspective and pause for thought, as well as an insight into the lives of others. Ideal for those who want to get deeper into the non-fiction genre by reading personal accounts of extraordinary events.

Recommended reads: In Order to Live by Yeonmi Park, Dying: A Memoir by Cory Taylor

 

The Fantasy Thriller

If you’re a fan of Game of Thrones and can’t get enough of epic fantasy stories, there are plenty of 2017 releases that will sate your appetite for bloody battles and mythical creatures. The surge in fantasy fiction in the last ten years has brought with it some truly remarkable books, which will keep you glued to their pages until the very end. Just make sure you have the next book in the series with you as well, so you can start it straight away!

Recommended reads: The Half-Drowned King by Linnea Hartsuyker

 

Which type of summer reading is your favourite?